In Memoriam

My grandpa, John Murphy, passed away last night at the Masonic Pathways Home in Alma, Michigan. He had been battling a variety of ailments for quite some time.

He’s the one who introduced me to the sport of horse racing, patiently taught me how to decipher the program and instilled a love of the game that lives on to this day. Simply put, if not for him, you’re probably not reading any of the things you see on this site right now.

Outside of the track (though often at the track, too) my grandpa was the funniest individual I have ever known. Readers who have been fortunate enough to meet him over the years have almost certainly been touched by his sense of humor at one time or another. No one could make me laugh the way he could.

Few people have shaped my life like he did.

We lost a good one today.

I’ll miss him.

UPDATE: Funeral arrangements have been finalized and will be as follows…

Visitation will be on Thursday from 1 p.m. to 3 p.m. and 5 p.m. to 9 p.m. at the Clark Family Funeral Chapel in Mt. Pleasant.

The funeral will be Friday at 1 p.m. at the Clark Funeral Home with dinner following.

My grandpa displaying his horsemanship. (Family Photo)

23 Comments

Filed under The Family Business

23 responses to “In Memoriam

  1. Very sorry to hear it; condolences to you and your family.

    What a photo–

  2. David

    Joe,

    and this game is better because of his contribution of his teaching it to someone else. It must have been gratifying to him to see the tradition continue in your own work.

    my deepest sympathies to you and your family

  3. Andrew

    Joe,

    Sorry to hear, my condolences.

  4. Lawman

    Sorry to read this news Joe, my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family.
    All the best,
    TL

  5. Joe..It is because of men like your Grandfather that this great sport will survive..prayers to you and your family.

    Bill

  6. ragman

    Sorry for your loss. Memories can grow stronger as time passes.

  7. mibredclaimer

    Thanks, everyone. It means a lot to hear from you all.

    As soon as I have the details for the funeral arrangements, I’ll put them up.

  8. Cousin Karen

    Very nice tribute, Joe. Thanks!
    See you soon.

  9. ejh

    He was one of a kind. I have so many great memories of him and the horses. He will be missed but if there is a racetrack in heaven my guess is he is there betting right now.

    • scott b

      i will laugh tonite..in tribute to your grandpa..as it sounds like thats how he would want it..so celebrate his life and cherish the memories..god bless

  10. RB

    Joe,

    My deepest sympathies to you and your family.

    Your GrandPa surely was special, and yes if there is a racetrack in heaven he will be at the windows or riding! What a photo! He looks so relaxed on that rearing horse! A true horseman!

  11. My sincere condolences, Joe. And what a great photo of your Grandpa! I have yet to meet an Irishman who doesn’t like a good horse race.

  12. Longshot

    My condolences Joe. You are in my thoughts and my prayers. But know this, he is in a Glorious place surrounded by many Horses and Jesus.

    God forbid that I should go to any heaven where there are no horses. He is with many and he is happy. And when you see a horse you will see your Grampa, he will always be there through
    out your life like a shing star guiding you.

  13. Longshot

    My condolences Joe. You are in my thoughts and my prayers. But know this, he is in a Glorious place surrounded by many Horses and Jesus.

    And he is with many and he is happy. And when you see a horse you will see your Grampa, he will always be there throughout your life like a shining star guiding you.

    “God forbid that I should go to any Heaven in which there are no horses.”
    Robert B Cunninghame-Graham 1917

  14. Derek

    Hi Joe,

    Sorry to hear about your loss. Great picture and great memories to remember him by!

  15. Elizabeth

    So sorry to hear about your loss. My sympathies to you and your family during this difficult time. That’s a wonderful photo of your grandpa.

  16. mibredclaimer

    Everyone’s condolences are very greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.

    And for the record, I’m stealing the “I’ve yet to meet an Irishman who doesn’t like a good horse race” line. If and when it appears in my future best-seller, I’ll be sure to give you a nice nod in the acknowledgements, Valerie.

  17. Joe,

    Sorry sorry to hear of your loss. Your grandfather is gone but not forgotten, what he has left you with is priceless. Our thoughts are with you. LOVE the photo!

    Nicole

  18. a horse of a different color

    Joe,
    My heartfelt condolences and deepest sympathies go out to you and your family during this difficult time. I am grateful to him for instilling “a love of the game in you” and find comfort in knowing that his legacy lives on through you and you have made him proud.

  19. BWT

    My deepest sympathy to you and your family, that photo showed a horseman who truly loved life.

  20. mibredclaimer

    Thank you all so much for your kind words. He did indeed love life, and from the stories I heard over the last few days, he made a lot of other people love it too.

  21. ROX

    Your life is his eulogy, and a wonderful one. Keep it up,everything you write is awesome. Can’t wait for the book.

  22. mibredclaimer

    Thank you very much for your kind words.

Leave a Reply

