Guest commentary in Thoroughbred Times TODAY

Last week, Ed DeRosa of Thoroughbred Times invited me to write a commentary piece about my grandpa and our time together at the races for the daily email publication, Thoroughbred Times TODAY. I was more than happy to oblige.

The story appeared in Tuesday’s edition of TODAY and I couldn’t be happier with how it turned out. They even picked a pretty sweet picture of me for my bio. Have a look for yourself…

Click here to read the story – “More than just past performances and picking winners”.

This PDF appears courtesy of Thoroughbred Times and its daily publication Thoroughbred Times TODAY. Many thanks to them for allowing me a page to remember my grandpa and our adventures at the races.

Thoroughbred Times TODAY is currently offering a free 30-day trial of its email publication. Having written for TODAY during my internship with TTimes, I can tell you from experience that they do a fantastic job and it is definitely worth your time to check it out.

To sign up for a free trial of Thoroughbred Times TODAY, click here.

8 Comments

Filed under Commentary, The Family Business

8 responses to “Guest commentary in Thoroughbred Times TODAY

  1. Janet

    Buddy would have been so proud of you Joe, and he would have been thrilled at the honor of having his name and picture in the TTimes. Great article.

  2. Congrats on an outstanding piece and kudos for the TTimes for picking it up. Thanks for sharing it.

  3. Great stuff. I’m sure he’s picking a bunch of winners in a better place.

    Geno

  4. mibredclaimer

    Thanks, everyone. Glad you liked it.

  5. Longshot

    Beautiful Tribute Joe.

  6. mibredclaimer

    Thanks a bunch!

  7. old time race fan

    Very nice Joe. Well done. I guess I never thought of it, but your comment that family members are the ones who bring us to the sport rings true with me also. My uncle first took me to the track back in the 60’s in New York. While other kids were going to see the Yankees and Mets, I got to see some great races with Damascus; Dr. Fager; Buckpasser, etc. It does sort of bridge the gap of generations. You’ll always remember your grandpa on those nice sunny days at the track.
    Thank you.

  8. mibredclaimer

    Thank you very much!

    The family element is one of the things that makes the sport great. Almost to the number, everyone I know in the industry was brought in by a father, grandfather, uncle, sibling, etc.

    Lots of baseball enthusiasts may become fans through family members, but how many actually become active members of the game like the owners, trainers, breeders, riders, etc.? It’s really something special.

    Thanks for sharing your story. What a fantastic time to get into racing.

Leave a Reply

