The Haiku Handicapper: 2010 Kentucky Derby

Thank you, Mario
But all the haikus are in
Another castle

Click on the haiku above to see my Kentucky Derby picks on NTRA.com. As always, a huge tip of the hat goes to Claire Novak for allowing me to pollute her blog with my scatterbrained thoughts about the Derby.

In other Derby-related news a Mt. Pleasant, Mich. woman was featured in a Des Moines Register story about her special connection to Kentucky Derby starter Paddy O’Prado.

The story focuses on Adrienne Goffnett, and her quest to see the horse in person following the Blue Grass Stakes at Keeneland Race Course. Goffnett suffers from a rare lung disease, which made the trip a difficult, but necessary, one after becoming a fan of the El Prado (IRE) colt last August.

For those looking for a local angle for the Derby and don’t like the chances of Michigan native Mike Maker’s entries (Stately Victor and Dean’s Kitten), this might do nicely.

As the Derby draws closer, I have declared two goals for myself on the big day to gauge my success:

1) Make myself look as good as possible on a national stage, be it through my conduct in interviews, the copy I produce or the suit I intend to wear.

2) Don’t start weeping like a baby when they play “My Old Kentucky Home” during the post parade.

If I can do those two things, everything else should fall into place. See you at the races!

2 Comments

Filed under The Haiku Handicapper, Triple Crown

2 responses to “The Haiku Handicapper: 2010 Kentucky Derby

  1. Jeff’s Derby trifecta: 4-16-1

    4. Super Saver
    16. Awesome Act
    1. Lookin At Lucky

  2. old time race fan

    nice Haiku Joe. While my main bet was on Lucky, I pulled out the exacta with Calvin and Ice Box.
    My take on 2010 Derby:

    “Got wet to the bone,
    36 years away, but
    Derby the greatest.”

Leave a Reply

