Sanford Stakes preview for Thorofan

Once again, I have been called into service to handicap one of the weekend’s feature races for horse racing fan site Thorofan.com.

Currently, my record stands at a perfect two-for-two in picking the winner of my assigned race for Thorofan’s Handicapper’s Corner, including 19.90-to-one shot Exhi in the Lexington Stakes (I’m going to brag about that one for a long time). This time around, my mission was to break down Sunday’s Sanford Stakes at Saratoga Race Course.

The Sanford is one of the first graded stakes tests in the country for two-year-olds, so I did not have much to go by in terms of on-track performance. The only horse in the field I had any real prior knowledge on was Kentucky Juvenile winner Lou Brissie. In all honesty, when it comes to two-year-olds, I’m probably a more useful handicapper with Quarter Horses.

With that said, the Sanford should be an entertaining race and I look forward to seeing if I can keep my run of good fortune going on Sunday.

To see my analysis of the Sanford on Thorofan, click here.

2 Comments

Filed under Stakes Races

2 responses to “Sanford Stakes preview for Thorofan

  1. Old Time Race Fan

    Nice job Joe. While your top pick did not win, your second pick sure did. You said that of all the speed, he had the best chance to stay the distance.
    Pletcher’s horse also ran a nice race. How often do you see a Pletcher undefeated 2 year old paying $7 to show?

  2. mibredclaimer

    Thanks! I was pleased to see my second and third choices run 1-2, even if Lou Brissie kind of let me down. I’m going to call it a draw. So that puts me at 2-0-1 in my Handicapper’s Corner endeavors.

    All of the top three finishers turned in nice efforts, but the one I see jumping up from this race is Nacho Saint. If that race goes six and a half panels, the outcome is probably reversed. That said, I’m always glad to see Mike Maker get a big-time horse. He was easily one of the better interviews I had over Derby weekend.

Leave a Reply

