Jackson-saddled pair highlights Mackinac Handicap

Trainer James Jackson has had a solid hold on Michigan’s three-year-old male division in 2010.

Jackson reached the winner’s circle in the division’s two stakes races at Pinnacle Race Course this year, saddling Hour By Hour in the June 26 Lansing Stakes and Meadow Magic in the July 31 Dowling Stakes. He will try to keep that streak alive by sending the pair to the post in Saturday’s $50,000 Mackinac Handicap.

The Mackinac Handicap drew nine Michigan-bred three-year-old males to race at a mile and a sixteenth. Last year’s installment of the Mackinac was won by Perfect Start.

Dowling Stakes winner Meadow Magic will have the inside post in Saturday’s race. The Meadow Prayer gelding won the July 31 race by four lengths, capped off by an erratic trip down the stretch. He enters the Mackinac off a third place finish in an Aug. 17 allowance race at Presque Isle Downs. James Jackson trains Meadow Magic for Laura Jackson and Red Riding Hood Stable. Tommy Molina will be in the saddle for Saturday’s race.

Also coming out of the Jackson barn is Lansing Stakes winner Hour By Hour, who will start from the outside post. The Elusive Hour gelding won the Lansing with one of his signature front-running trips for a 2 3/4 length victory. Hour By Hour comes in off an unplaced finish in another Aug. 17 allowance race at Presque Isle. Augusto Marin will wear the colors of Laura Jackson in the Mackinac. James Jackson will saddle Hour By Hour.

Lansing Stakes runner-up Secrets Only is also entered in Saturday’s race. The Secret Romeo gelding enters the Mackinac off the field’s highest last-race Beyer figure, a 73, following an 8 3/4 length score in an Aug. 8 allowance contest at Pinnacle. Robert Gorham trains Secrets Only for owner Mast Thoroughbreds, LLC. Regular rider Jeffrey Skerrett retains the mount for the Mackinac.

#. Horse / Jockey / Trainer / Odds

1. Meadow Magic / T Molina / J R Jackson / 8-5
2. Got Your Nugget / A Hernandez-Lopez / P J Powers / 20-1
3. Wiley Potts / F Mata / R M Gorham / 15-1
4. Secrets Only / J Skerrett / R M Gorham / 6-1
5. Power Of Titus / O Bernal / D D Waite / 7-2
6. Dream Victory / R Barrios / J R Jackson / 12-1
7. Prince Of Paulie / J J Delgado / R J Rettele / 5-1
8. Bentley Red / A Pusac / D Cluley / 20-1
9. Hour By Hour / A A Marin / J R Jackson / 8-1

Leave a comment

Filed under Pinnacle Race Course, Stakes Races

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s